The Oyo State Government, on Tuesday, announced that it had distributed farm inputs and agricultural assets to farmers in six local government areas of the state.

The state Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, Olasunkanmi Olaleye, supervised the distribution in the Oke Ogun axis, which includes ATISBO, Saki West, Oorelope, Kajola, Iwajowa and Itesiwaju local government areas.

A statement by the Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Dotun Oyelade, in Ibadan said the flag-off of the distribution in the six LGAs was part of the ongoing Sustainable Action for Economic Recovery programme by the government.

He said, “The state government is committed to enhancing quality and increased farm produce, in order to boost food security in the state.

While unveiling the distribution, the Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, Olaleye, who also doubles as Chairman, Food Security under SAfER, said the fourth phase of the farm distribution was officially flagged off at Ibarapa East in Eruwa where about 2,537 farmers across Ibarapa zones benefited.

Speaking through the Director, Regulation and Enforcement, Olusegun Ezekiel, the commissioner explained: “The move was part of the state government plan to cushion the effect of subsidy removal, and the beneficiaries would go home with herbicides, knap-sack sprayer tank, 16kg hybrid maize seedlings, insecticide and 20 bundles of improved cassava stems.”

In their separate remarks, the Baale Agbe ATISBO and Oorelope, Daniel Oketola and Oladunni Isaiah, respectively commended the State Governor, Seyi Makinde for bringing succour to farmers in the state.

They noted that the distribution was timely, and urged farmers to make judicious use of it.

Source: Punch Newspaper