The Rivers State House of Assembly led by Victor Oko Jumbo-led is set to screen the Caretaker Committee (CTC) Chairmen, and members for the 23 local government areas of the state on Wednesday (today).

SaharaReporters had reported that Governor Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers State issued a directive for heads of the local government administration to assume control of the state’s 23 council areas.

The governor’s move comes in response to the expiration of the statutory three-year tenure of elected local government chairmen, vice chairmen, and councillors.

In a broadcast on Tuesday, Governor Fubara had instructed Heads of Local Government Administration (HLGAs) to take charge of the councils promptly and with renewed commitment.

He had emphasised the importance of upholding the constitution and maintaining law and order, urging HLGAs to provide continued leadership in their respective areas.

This followed the expiration of the tenure of the elected chairmen and councillors of the 23 LGAs in the state.

SaharaReporters had also reported that there was tension in Port Harcourt, the state capital as youths allegedly loyal to Governor Fubara had taken over all the council secretariats in the state and prevented council chairpersons from gaining entrance.

The tenures of the chairpersons elapsed on June 17, 2024.

In several videos shared on X (formerly Twitter), residents and political supporters of the governor were seen taking over Port Harcourt City and Omuma council areas.

However, a memo surfaced on Wednesday morning, signed by Clerk of the House, G.M. Gills-West, reportedly inviting 23 persons to appear before the house for screening as CTC chairmen.

Seven persons each from the 23 LGAs are to also appear before the house to be screened as caretaker committee members, according to the memo.

The memo read: “The Rivers State House of Assembly hereby invites the following nominees for screening and confirmation as Chairmen and members of Caretaker Committees of the Twenty-Three (23) Local Government Areas of Rivers State, pursuant to Section 9(5) of the Rivers State Local Government Law, No.5 of 2018.

“Names of Nominees and their Local Government Areas (See Attached): Date: Wednesday, 19th June, 2024. Time: 8:00 a.m. Venue: Hallowed Chamber, Rivers State House of Assembly, Auditorium, Admin. Block, Rivers State Government House, Port Harcourt.

“The nominees are to come along with twelve (12) sets of their Curriculum Vitae (CV) and, the originals and photocopies of their credentials.”

Source: Sahara Reporter